客户混淆泡沫密度和泡沫柔软所有的时间。 他们写邮件给我,“我在找一个低密度泡沫。”我总是问“你真的是密度还是​​你的意思是柔软度?”他们(几乎总是)的意思是柔软度。

所以的区别是什么? 泡沫的密度是测量重量 一立方卷的材料,比如 12 磅/英尺3.另一方面,柔和是物质的泡沫的测量张力表面上,当它触及。

泡沫密度公式实际上,不是泡沫密度、 泡沫柔软的真正的直接关系。 你可以有 2 磅/英尺的泡沫3 密度是非常软的还是很硬。它取决于用来制造泡沫的化学品。

泡沫-柔软-硬度计-2如何,然后,是柔软度测量? 它用一种叫做硬度计仪器测量。有三种主要的柔软度测量量表: 岸边 00 (上图右),邵尔 A 和提问者 C.岸 00 是最佳规模,使用时要测量的东西是很软,因为它有广泛的规模上软端。

那么,有没有任何柔软度与密度之间的关系? 不是真的。然而,有着直接的关系密度和 Squishiness (我已经创建了一个新的术语)。当然,我不得不还创建工具测量此软泡沫规范...... Squishometer (见左下图)。

泡沫-柔软-squishometer拿开孔泡沫和闭孔泡沫之间的区别。 开孔泡沫的分数非常高的 Squishometer 因为它有一个非常低的密度。(海绵是开孔泡沫示例)。闭孔泡沫倾向的密度大,因此,分数低的 Squishometer 上。

希望我短开机软泡此 (经常会混淆) 物理属性现在很清楚。下一位顾客来问我我将是这一理论的考验。

一个响应 你的意思是泡沫的密度还是你的意思泡沫柔软?

注释已关闭。


[顶部]

Customer confuse foam density and foam softness all the time. They write email to me, “I’m looking for a low density foam.” I always ask “Do you really mean density or do you mean softness?” They (almost always) mean softness.

So, what is the difference? The density of foam is a measurement of theweight of a cubic volume of a material, like 12lbs/ft3. On the other hand, the softness of foam is a measurement of the tension on the surface of the material when it is touched.

foam-density-formulaActually, there is not a real direct relationship between foam density and foam softness. You can have foam that is 2lb/ft3 density and is very soft or very hard. It depends on the chemicals used to make the foam.

foam-softness-durometer-2How, then, is softness measured? It’s measured with an instrument called a durometer. There are three major softness measurement scales: Shore 00 (shown right), Shore A, and Asker C. Shore 00 is the best scale to use when you want to measure something that is very soft as it has the widest scale on the soft end.

So, is there any relationship between softness and density? Not really. However, there is a direct relationship between density and Squishiness (a new term I have created.) Of course, I’ve had to also create the tool for measuring this soft foam specification…the Squishometer (seen below left.)

foam-softness-squishometerTake the difference between open cell foam and closed cell foam. Open cell foam scores extremely high on the Squishometer because it has a very low density. (A sponge is an example of open cell foam.) Closed cell foam tends to be denser and, therefore, scores low on the Squishometer.

Hopefully my short post on this (often confused) physical property of soft foam is now clear. The next customer who asks me will be the test of this theory.

One Response to You Mean Foam Density or Do You Mean Foam Softness?

Comments are closed.


[top]