الخلط العملاء كثافة الرغوة ورغوة ليونة في كل وقت. يكتبون البريد الالكتروني لي، "أنا أبحث عن رغوة منخفضة الكثافة." أنا دائما أسأل "هل تعني حقا الكثافة أو تقصد نعومة؟" انهم (دائما تقريبا) يعني ليونة.

لذا، ما هو الفرق؟ كثافة الرغوة هو قياس للالوزن حجم مكعب من المواد، مثل 12 رطل/قدم3. من ناحية أخرى، ليونة الرغوة مقياسا للتوتر على السطح المواد عند فإنه يتم التطرق.

رغوة-الكثافة--صيغةفي الواقع، لا توجد علاقة حقيقية مباشرة بين كثافة الرغوة والرغوة ليونة. يمكن أن يكون لديك رغوة 2 رطل/قدم3 الكثافة وهي لينة جداً أو من الصعب جداً. فإنه يعتمد على المواد الكيميائية المستخدمة لجعل الرغوة.

foam-softness-durometer-2كيف، إذن، ليونة يقاس؟ ويقاس بأداة تسمى دوروميتير. وهناك ثلاثة جداول قياس ليونة الرئيسية: شور 00 (إظهار الحق)، شور A، وعسكر جيم الشاطئ 00 هو المقياس الأفضل استخدام عندما تريد أن تقيس شيئا أن لينة جداً كما أن له نطاق أوسع في نهاية ناعمة.

لذا، هل هناك أي علاقة بين النعومة والكثافة؟ لا حقاً. ومع ذلك، هناك علاقة مباشرة بين الكثافة و الطراوة (مصطلح جديد قد خلقت). بالطبع، لقد كان أيضا إنشاء الأداة لقياس هذه المواصفات الرغوة الناعمة.. Squishometer (ينظر إلى أسفل اليسار.)

foam-softness-squishometerتأخذ الفرق بين خلية مفتوح الرغوة والرغوة خلية مغلقة. فتح عشرات رغوة خلية عالية للغاية على Squishometer لأنه يحتوي كثافة منخفضة للغاية. (الأسفنج مثال للرغوة خلية مفتوح). رغوة الخلية المغلقة يميل إلى أن يكون أكثر كثافة، وذلك، منخفضة عشرات على سكويشوميتير.

نأمل أن منصبي قصيرة على هذه الممتلكات المادية (الخلط في كثير من الأحيان) رغوة لينة من الواضح الآن. وسيكون العميل القادم الذي يطلب مني لاختبار هذه النظرية.

Customer confuse foam density and foam softness all the time. They write email to me, “I’m looking for a low density foam.” I always ask “Do you really mean density or do you mean softness?” They (almost always) mean softness.

So, what is the difference? The density of foam is a measurement of theweight of a cubic volume of a material, like 12lbs/ft3. On the other hand, the softness of foam is a measurement of the tension on the surface of the material when it is touched.

foam-density-formulaActually, there is not a real direct relationship between foam density and foam softness. You can have foam that is 2lb/ft3 density and is very soft or very hard. It depends on the chemicals used to make the foam.

foam-softness-durometer-2How, then, is softness measured? It’s measured with an instrument called a durometer. There are three major softness measurement scales: Shore 00 (shown right), Shore A, and Asker C. Shore 00 is the best scale to use when you want to measure something that is very soft as it has the widest scale on the soft end.

So, is there any relationship between softness and density? Not really. However, there is a direct relationship between density and Squishiness (a new term I have created.) Of course, I’ve had to also create the tool for measuring this soft foam specification…the Squishometer (seen below left.)

foam-softness-squishometerTake the difference between open cell foam and closed cell foam. Open cell foam scores extremely high on the Squishometer because it has a very low density. (A sponge is an example of open cell foam.) Closed cell foam tends to be denser and, therefore, scores low on the Squishometer.

Hopefully my short post on this (often confused) physical property of soft foam is now clear. The next customer who asks me will be the test of this theory.

One Response to You Mean Foam Density or Do You Mean Foam Softness?

Comments are closed.


[top]